TC 6
Spectrum Management

Annual Meeting Minutes

August 19, 2003

Boston, MA

Attendees: 


 
Home
Officers
Meetings
Reviews
Links
TAC

 

Name

Company

Phone

E-Mail

Miki Brown

Raytheon Missile Systems

(520) 794-3417

mfbrown@ieee.org

Tom Fagan

Raytheon Missile Systems

(520) 794-0227

tjfagan@ieee.org

Arto Chubukjian

Communications Research Centre

(613) 998-2213

Arto.Chubukjian@ieee.org

Hughes Nappert

Industry

(613) 991-0031

Nappert.Hughes@ic.gc.ca

Karen Dyberg

Raytheon IDS

(978) 440-4022

Karen_I_Dyberg@raytheon.com

David Southworth

SSC-SD

(619) 553-3248

d.southworth@ieee.org

Vil Arafiles

DoD

(301) 688-0476

vparafiles@ieee.org

Hibtullah Khomusi

Industry

(613) 990-4721

Khomusi.Hibtullah@ic.gc.ca

Andy Drozd

Andro

(315) 334-1163

Andro1@aol.com

Stephen Berger

TRM

(512) 869-8435

Stephen.berger@ieee.org

Alan Lindsey

Air Force Research Lab

(315) 330-1879

lindseya@rl.af.mil

 

2003 Meeting Minutes:

The 2003 IEEE EMCS Technical Committee on Spectrum Management (TC 6) annual meeting was held at 5:30 pm on August 19th at the Sheraton Hotel Berkeley Room in Boston , Massachusetts .

(1) TC 6 Officer Changes:

- Arto Chubukjian will be transferring his TC 6 Chair title to Tom Fagan at the close of this year’s symposium.  Arto has held the title of TC 6 Chair for the past 12 years.  Tom has held the TC 6 Vice Chair for the past three years.  Miki Brown will move from TC 6 Secretary to Vice Chair, and Karen Dyberg has accepted the position of Secretary. Members present approved the changeover.

(2) Salient Points of Discussion:

- Conference Paper Reviews:  TC 6 received 4 papers to review this past year.

- Membership update issues will be discussed in the TAC meeting.

- Tom Fagan (TC 6 Webmaster) has updated our webpage.

- TC 6 did not have enough submitted papers to hold a special session at the conference this year.

- Tom Fagan will keep all TC 6 members informed of issues and plans via e-mail.  Please ensure that Tom has your current contact information.

- The FCC has floated new regulatory concepts, e.g., interference temperature, white space, etc., which need to be tracked by TC 6.  Full details on this issue are unknown at this time.

- TC 6 reviewed and approved two questions submitted by NARTE through TAC.

(3) TC 6/TC 3 Proposed Merger:

- The proposed TC 6 (Spectrum Management) and TC 3 (Electromagnetic Environment) merger has been dropped by TAC.  This is no longer being considered.

 (4) Guest Speaker Presentation:

-Dr. Alan R. Lindsey, P.E. of the Air Force Research Laboratory/IFGC, Rome Research Site gave a presentation on "Multi-Objective Joint Optimization of Transmission Hypercube" which addressed the issue of dimensional inefficiency in utilization of the RF transmission space. Dr. Lindsey's view is that the "spectrum crisis" is, in fact, no crisis at all, but this is entirely due to the fact that there is no identifiable path toward optimal utilization of the entire transmission space.

-Dr. Lindsey’s presentation will be posted, with his permission, on the TC 6 webpage.

The 2003 TC 6 meeting was adjourned at 6:50 pm .

Michele F. (Miki) Brown

TC 6 Spectrum Management Secretary


 

Interested in joining?

If you are an IEEE EMC Society member and would like to join one of the technical committees, please contact one of the committee officers with your name and IEEE membership number. The committees meet yearly at the IEEE EMC Symposium.

Have ideas?

If you are not an IEEE member but have a comment or suggestion, we would like to hear from you. Please contact an appropriate TC 6 committee officer with your idea.