2004 European Electromagnetics Symposium
(EUROEM 2004)

More than 500 engineers and scientists in the disciplines of Electromagnetic Compatibility, High Power Engineering and Electromagnetics attended the 2004 European Electromagnetics Symposium (EUROEM 2004), which took place from July 12 thru July 16 in the city of Magdeburg, Germany.
The EUROEM 2004 continues the EUROEM/AMEREM tradition of bringing together the:
• 14th High Power Electromagnetics Conference (HPEM14)
• 7th Ultra-Wideband, Short-Pulse Electromagnetics Conference (UWB SP 7)
• 7th Unexploded Ordnance Detection and Range Remediation Conference (UXO 7)
Magdeburg is located on the Elbe River, about 90 miles west of Berlin in Central Germany, and known as the city of Emperor Otto the Great (912-973) and the inventor Otto von Guericke (1602-1686). Among the outstanding personalities born in Magdeburg there are the composer Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) and Baron von Steuben (1730-1794), the Prussian general who fought in the American Revolutionary war and is best remembered for organizing and training the Continental troops at Valley Forge. Today visitors experience the flair of a modern metropolis in a unique setting formed by 1,200 years of living historical heritage. A lively arts scene with a wide choice of theaters, cabarets, concerts and shows further enhances the distinctive charm of Magdeburg. The city also has much green space – one of the most popular attractions is the lovely Elbauenpark close to the river, with the tallest wooden tower in the world, the Millennium Tower, the location of the symposium banquet.
EUROEM 2004 was hosted by the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg under the patronage of
Prof. Dr. K. E. Pollmann (Rector of the Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg), Dr. M. Schober (Vice-President of the Federal Office of Defence Technology and Procurement), Prof. Dr. B. Staginnus (Director of the Armed Forces Research Institute for Protective Technologies and NBC Protection) and G. Neumann (Director of the Armed Forces Technical Centre for Communication and Electronics).


The historical cathedral of Magdeburg.


Kimball Williams (right) presented the IEEE Fellow award to Jürgen Nitsch (left).


The Opening Ceremony Panel (from left): Bernd Staginnus, Director of the Federal Armed Forces Research Institute for Protective Technologies, Zbigniew Styczynski, Dean of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Symposium Co-Chairman, Carl E. Baum, Klaus E. Pollmann, Rector of the Otto-von-Guericke University, Kimball Williams, President of IEEE EMCS, Lutz Trumper, Lord Mayor of Magdeburg, Ms Renate Gatzky, Jan-Hendrik Olbertz, Minister of Education of Saxony-Anhalt and Jürgen Nitsch, Symposium Chairman.

During this week, spanning form Sunday to Friday, a top-notch technical program took place with something of interest for every attendee, including 339 presentations in 45 technical sessions, workshops, a plenary session with six key note presentations and various side meetings, including the first IEEE Region 8 EMC chapter retreat.
On Sunday evening a welcome reception was held as a prologue of the technical program. The technical program started with a welcome address of the symposium chair Jürgen Nitsch on Monday. In his opening address Jürgen Nitsch, the Symposium Chairman, welcomed more than 500 participants from more than 40 countries representing all inhabited continents.
The formal opening ceremony was held on Monday evening. Jan-Hendrik Olbertz, the Minister of Education of Saxony-Anhalt, Lutz Trumper, the Lord Mayor of Magdeburg, and Kimball Williams, the President of the IEEE EMC Society offered greetings. Within this frame Kimball Williams presented the promotion to the grade of an IEEE Fellow to Jürgen Nitsch.
Due to his scientific work in the area of electromagnetics and his strong relationship to the faculty of electrical engineering, the Otto-von-Guericke University honoured Carl E. Baum by an honorable PhD degree (Dr.-Ing e. H.).


Scott Tyo (center) and Everett Farr (left) received the Best-UWB-Paper Award from Frank Sabath.


Opening of the Exhibition (from right): Jürgen Nitsch, Horst Rehberger, Minister of Trade and Economy of Saxony-Anhalt, Zbigniew Styczynski and Günter Wollenberg.


Presentation of the honorable PhD (from left: J. Nitsch, K. E. Pollmann, C. E. Baum. Z. Styczynski).

The conference Co-Chairs Daniel Nitsch and Mats Bäckström for the HPEM 14, Frank Sabath and Eric Mokole for the UWB 7 and Hans Georg Krauthäuser and Peter Zwamborn for the UXO 7 did a great job in leading three technical committees, selecting the best papers and grouping them as best as possible into the appropriate sessions, and lined up a top-notch Technical Program. The sessions covered a broad range of areas in the field of High Power Electromagnetics, Ultra Wideband and Short Pulse Electromagnetics, Electromagnetic Compatibility and Ordnance Detection. Particularly noteworthy are seven sessions on Modeling, Coupling and Numerical Methods, five sessions on Vulnerability, Susceptibility and Protection and four sessions on Antennas.
However, besides the more traditional EMC topics, this symposium also featured some very special topics, not regularly covered at EMC Symposia, including sessions on Wave Propagation, Radar Systems, Target Detection, Space Weather and Geomagnetic Storms (and this is only a very partial list). All of the above took place in seven parallel sessions on five days!
A technical exhibition took place alongside the Symposium, thus forming the link between the models, analyses and theories of scientists and the needs of real world applications and systems. Over 15 exhibitors from Europe and North America were on site to provide hands-on demonstrations and explanations of their products and services.
The social program consisted of the opening ceremony, the Mayor’s Reception, the Symposium Banquet and four Symposium Tours. The banquet took place in the Millennium Tower, the tallest wooden tower in the world featuring an unforgettable time travel through 6000 years of research and development of mankind. New EMP Fellows and Best-Paper-Awards were presented during this banquet.
The IEEE EMCS Board of Directors was represented at the Symposium by a distinguished delegation, lead by Kimball Williams, President of the EMCS, Todd Hubing, Past President of the EMCS, with Elya Joffe, VP for Conferences and Symposia, and Nigel Carter. Frank Sabath, Region 8 Conference Coordinator and Heyno Garbe, Chairman of the German Chapter, completed the list of officers of the EMCS. Also, seven representatives of EMC Chapters were present at the 2004 Chapter Retreat on Thursday.
Finally, the EUROEM 2004 was a remarkable symposium with a technical program of highest scientific quality and a wonderful social program. This picture was completed by the professionalism and hospitality of the symposium staff. EMC


If you would like to contact the IEEE Webmaster
© Copyright 2004, IEEE. Terms & Conditions. Privacy & Security

return to contents
IEEE logo